Couldn’t find device with uuid or unknown device LVM Partition in Linux

Posted: September 20, 2016 in Couldn't find device with uuid or unknown device

For the below issue I have removed two disk from VM level and removed entry from fstab too . But forgot remove LVM manager that’s why i got below error. So below steps to remove the “removed disk LVM partition.

root@testvm ~]# vgs

Couldn’t find device with uuid V8eIOe-xkLl-YeZ7-TLO3-dzzn-CVZP-kMAH26.

Couldn’t find device with uuid tlJ1em-nmXl-HqPY-AYfe-NP2U-QzJV-7KXyAB.

VG       #PV #LV #SN Attr   VSize   VFree

rootVG     1   4   0 wz–n-   84.84g   0

vgdata   4   1   0 wz-pn-   2.50t   0

 

[root@testvm ~]# pvs

Couldn’t find device with uuid V8eIOe-xkLl-YeZ7-TLO3-dzzn-CVZP-kMAH26.

Couldn’t find device with uuid tlJ1em-nmXl-HqPY-AYfe-NP2U-QzJV-7KXyAB.

PV             VG       Fmt Attr PSize   PFree

/dev/sda2     rootVG   lvm2 a–   84.84g   0

/dev/sdb       vgdata lvm2 a–     2.46t   0

unknown device vgdata lvm2 a-m   640.00m   0

unknown device vgdata lvm2 a-m     8.00m   0

 

[root@testvm ~]# vgreduce –removemissing –force vgdata

Couldn’t find device with uuid V8eIOe-xkLl-YeZ7-TLO3-dzzn-CVZP-kMAH26.

Couldn’t find device with uuid tlJ1em-nmXl-HqPY-AYfe-NP2U-QzJV-7KXyAB.

Removing partial LV lvol1.

Logical volume “lvol1” successfully removed

Wrote out consistent volume group vgdata

[root@testvm ~]# vgs

VG       #PV #LV #SN Attr   VSize   VFree

rootVG     1   4   0 wz–n-   84.84g   0

vgdata   2   0   0 wz–n-   2.50t 2.50t

 

[root@testvm ~]# pvs

PV         VG       Fmt Attr PSize   PFree

/dev/sda2 rootVG   lvm2 a–   84.84g     0

/dev/sdb   vgdata lvm2 a–     2.46t 2.46t

Comments
  1. You’re so great! I don’t suppose I can learn something
    like this before. So great to find someone with some
    unique ideas about this subject. really thanks
    for bringing this up. this website is something that’s needed online, somebody with somewhat
    creativity. excellent job for bringing something new online!

  2. Thanks for writing this tremendous excellent articles.
    The information in this material shows my perspective and you truly laid it out well.
    I could never have written a piece of writing this excellent.

  3. 1 says:

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more
    of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks! https://goo.gl/TWH8k5

  4. This info is invaluable. Where can I find out more?

  5. Karri says:

    It can be tough to talk about this topic. I think you did a fantastic job though!
    Thanks for this!

  6. My brother suggested I may like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post actually made my day.
    You can not consider just how so much time I had spent for
    this information! Thanks!

  7. Just wanna input on few general things, The website design is ideal,
    the articles are very wonderful : D.

  8. 1 says:

    Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site,
    how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account aided me a acceptable
    deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided
    bright clear concept http://bit.ly/2jyo7ow

  9. 1 says:

    I relish, cause I discovered just what I used to be looking for.
    You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day.
    Bye http://bit.ly/2kgPfbs

  10. hi!,I love your writing so a lot! share we keep in touch more about your article on AOL?
    I require an expert on this house to resolve my problem.
    Maybe that’s you! Taking a look forward to see you.

  11. Admiring the hard work you put into your site and detailed information you
    offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a
    while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Wonderful read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  12. Bradley says:

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a
    amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!
    However, how could we communicate? http://www.aneed.com.au/component/k2/itemlist/user/801394

  13. marbella says:

    Can I simply just say what a comfort to discover someone that really knows what
    they’re discussing over the internet. You certainly realize how to bring a problem to light and make
    it important. More and more people must check this out and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you aren’t more popular given that you definitely possess the gift.

  14. Surprisingly user pleasant site. Immense info readily available on few gos to. http://hz-sz.com.cn/comment/html/index.php?page=1&id=70202

  15. Leora says:

    Hello there, You’ve done a great job. I will definitely
    digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m sure they will be benefited from this site. http://www.rams.org.za/?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=5985

  16. Son says:

    I pay a visit daily a few web pages and websites to
    read articles, however this web site provides quality based articles. http://www.tropical-gardens-rv-park.com/?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=9158

  17. I was very pleased to uncover this web site. I need
    to to thank you for ones time just for this
    wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and I
    have you bookmarked to check out new information on your website.

    Can I simply just say what a relief to find someone that genuinely understands
    what they’re talking about on the internet. You actually know how to bring an issue to
    light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side
    of the story. I was surprised you’re not more popular because
    you definitely possess the gift.

    Excellent write-up. I certainly love this website.

    Stick with it!

    It’s hard to come by educated people in this particular subject, however, you seem
    like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

    You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the finest
    sites on the net. I will recommend this site!

    An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment.

    I do believe that you need to write more on this topic, it may
    not be a taboo subject but typically folks don’t talk about these issues.
    To the next! Kind regards!!

    Hi there! I simply would like to give you a huge thumbs
    up for your excellent information you have here
    on this post. I am coming back to your web site for more
    soon.

    After I initially commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me
    when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive four
    emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

    The next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not fail me as much as this one.

    After all, Yes, it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I genuinely thought
    you would probably have something interesting to talk about.
    All I hear is a bunch of complaining about something that you
    can fix if you weren’t too busy searching for attention.

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually feel this web site needs much more attention. I’ll
    probably be back again to see more, thanks for the
    advice!

    You’re so interesting! I do not believe I have
    read through something like this before.
    So good to discover another person with some genuine thoughts on this subject.
    Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that’s needed on the
    web, someone with some originality!

    I like looking through an article that can make men and women think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!

    This is the right webpage for anybody who would like to find out about this topic.
    You know so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a subject that has been discussed for years.
    Wonderful stuff, just great!

    Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Finding the time
    and actual effort to generate a really good article…
    but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

    I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog
    that’s equally educative and engaging, and
    without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something which too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I stumbled across this in my search for something concerning this.

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks, However I am encountering troubles with your
    RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to join it.
    Is there anybody else getting similar RSS problems? Anybody who knows the
    answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker who was conducting
    a little research on this. And he in fact ordered me lunch simply because I stumbled upon it for him…

    lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this matter
    here on your website.

    After checking out a number of the articles on your blog, I really like your
    way of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark website list
    and will be checking back in the near future. Please visit
    my website too and tell me your opinion.

    This excellent website really has all the info I wanted
    concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    There’s certainly a lot to learn about this issue.

    I like all of the points you have made.

    You’ve made some decent points there. I checked on the internet to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I
    stumbleupon every day. It’s always interesting to read through content from other writers and practice something from their sites.

    I blog quite often and I truly thank you for your content.
    This article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your
    blog and keep checking for new information about once a
    week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

    Pretty! This has been a really wonderful post. Many thanks for providing this information.

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!
    It is the little changes that make the largest changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

    Hello there! This article could not be written much
    better! Looking through this post reminds me of my
    previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this.
    I’ll forward this information to him. Fairly certain he’s going to have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Hello, I believe your website could be having web browser compatibility problems.
    When I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in IE,
    it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Aside from that, excellent blog!

    Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.

    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this content together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount
    of time both reading and leaving comments.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after
    looking at many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly delighted I came across it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back regularly!

    I need to to thank you for this very good read!! I certainly
    enjoyed every bit of it. I have you book-marked to look at new things you post…

    Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it ;
    ) I am going to come back once again since i have bookmarked it.

    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to help others.

    Your style is unique compared to other people I have read
    stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess
    I will just bookmark this site.

    I used to be able to find good information from your content.

    Wonderful article! We are linking to this particularly great article
    on our website. Keep up the great writing.

    That is a great tip particularly to those new to the
    blogosphere. Short but very precise information… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Well written!

    Saved as a favorite, I like your site!

    Very good post. I’m facing a few of these issues as well..

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and also the rest of the website is really good.

    Excellent site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find good quality
    writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate people like you!
    Take care!!

    This is a topic that is close to my heart…
    Best wishes! Exactly where are your contact details though?

    I seriously love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you develop this site yourself? Please reply
    back as I’m attempting to create my own personal site and want to find out where you got this from or just what
    the theme is called. Kudos!

    I like it whenever people come together and share ideas.
    Great blog, stick with it!

    Very good information. Lucky me I discovered your website by
    accident (stumbleupon). I have saved it for later!

    This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve
    found something which helped me. Kudos!

    Everything is very open with a really clear description of the issues.

    It was truly informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog.
    I’m hoping to see the same high-grade content from you later
    on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal blog
    now 😉

  18. Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from.

    Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity,
    Guess I will just book mark this blog.

  19. Hurrah! Finally I got a blog from where I be able to truly
    get useful facts concernig my study and knowledge.

  20. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing
    through some of thhe post I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  21. Thanks for sharing such a good idea, paragraph is fastidious, thats why
    i have read it completely

  22. I always spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s posts every day
    along with a mug of coffee.

  23. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.
    I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated
    me to get my own blog now 😉

  24. Nice response in return of this difficulty with real arguments and telling the
    whole thing about that.

  25. broderie says:

    It’s really a nice and useful piece of information. I am glad that you simply shared this
    helpful information with us. Please stay us
    up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  26. Etta says:

    What’s up mates, how is the whole thing, and what you want to say regarding this paragraph, in my view its really awesome for me. http://s542500538.onlinehome.us/project/arena1/index.php?mid=board_KRjf02&document_srl=100336

  27. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers
    and starting a new initiative in a community in the same
    niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

  28. Reva says:

    Thanks designed for sharing such a pleasant idea, piece of writing is good, thats why i have read
    it entirely

  29. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting
    to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  30. What’s up, just wanted to say, I enjoyed this blog post.
    It was funny. Keep on posting!

  31. Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this
    site with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Outstanding blog and excellent design and style.

Leave a Reply

